Raag Durga notes and notation-Indian music theory

Raag Durga notes and notation-Indian music theory

Raag Durga is the Awodo (5 notes) raag of Bilawal thaat. Ga and Ne are not allowed in this raag.

raag durga notes indian music theory

Ma is the wadi note of this raag. It resembles a little bit with Sud Malar. Time to sing this raag according to pandits is afternoon.

Due to the absence of Ga, it resembles Suratt but remember Re and Dha are not played in the Arohi of Suratt, whereas these are played in this raag. Beside this Ne is present in Suratt but it is not allowed in this raag, this factor separates raag Durga from Suratt.

The harmony of Re and Pa makes it sound like Malar. The formation of Raag remain intact by using Ma frequently and the listeners enjoy it.

Because Ne is not present in this raag therefore it is separated from Sarang as well.

Chaal of raag durga:


sa-dha-sa-re-pa-dha-ma-pa-ma-pa-high octave dha -ma-re-sa-sa-re-sa

pa-ma-re-sa-dha-dha-ma-re-pa-dha-ma-re-pa-ma-sa-re-sa-sa-dha-sa-ma-pa-dha-pa-ma-high octave sa-dha-ma-re-pa-dha-ma-pa-ma-re-dha-ma-re-sa-pa-ma-pa-dha-ma

ma-ma-pa-high octave sa-re-high octave ma re sa – pa-dha-ma-ma-pa- high octave sa re re -dha- high octave sa re re-dha- high octave sa-ma-pa-high octave sa – ma-pa high octave sa-pa-dha-dha-ma-pa-ma-pa-dha-ma-re-ma-sa-re-ma-sa-re-sa

Relevant Raag posts:

Raag Dhurpat Nut Bilawali-Indian Music theory

Raag Shukla Bilawal-Indian Music Theory